Bear’s Book Review: Worthy Kids/Ideals

Our oldest son, Bear, has enjoyed reading the first two books in this new biblical time-traveling adventure series by Worthy Kids/IdealsThe Secret of the Hidden Scrolls is designed to help children discover the bible as the read the adventures of Peter, Mary, and their dog Hank.  This new series currently houses two titles from author M. J. Thomas but after reading, my son hopes more will be on shelves soon.

Worthy Kids 1

In The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Beginning (Book #1) we are immediately introduced to nine year old Peter, his older sister Mary, and their dog Hank as all were dropped off with a relative to stay while their parents travel to Africa.  While left in the care of Great-Uncle Solomon they learn he is an archaeologist that has discovered amazing things some which are stored in his home library.  The best part about his artifacts and treasures is that they prove the bible to be infallible!  The most important discovery is the renowned Legend of the Hidden Scrolls wherewith an adventure can be had as each one is unrolled.  In the first scroll the children are walked through the creation of the world and meet the angel Michael, who will guide them through their time travel experience.

Worthy Kids 2

The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: Race to the Ark (Book #2) includes a new scroll and begins as any great sequel does, with a few reminders in the prologue and first chapter.  Unlike most children’s stories where the characters have fantastic time-travel adventures without the adult’s knowledge, in this one the Great-Uncle knows and encourages the children to enjoy.   During this second experience Peter, Mary, and Hank have several interactions with people from Noah’s time that don’t go so well.  Remember, during this time the bible explains in Genesis 6:5 KJV, “The Lord saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every intention of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.”  M.J. Thomas did an excellent job of portraying this through his words making it easy for the young readers to understand that in this time the people were truly evil.  Within the pages of this book the children assist with completing the Ark all while learning more about the power of God, fortitude in faith, and even some dog history.

Worthy Kids 3

Overall the first two books in The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls were a fun read for Bear and even for myself as we prepared for this review.  I believe this new series by Worthy Kids/Ideals would be a great gift for young readers, ages 6-11.  I would also use these stories during homeschool breaks for the holidays, summer enrichment, or even with the church for Vacation Bible School activities.  My oldest son enjoyed reading both and was able to finish each one within an hour.

“I really liked the book and want to read the next ones as they become available.  I think the stories kept true to the bible principles but added adventure for my age group.  I think these books are good for children ages 6 and up.  My younger brother and sister even liked listening to me read the first book to them. I like the characters and the added adventure of finding the words to complete the lesson while they are there.” Bear, 9 years old



As always, you can read more reviews about this new biblical time-travel series for children via this ancient and legendary hyperlink.

And, because this company is so fabulous, they are currently offering a FREE PREVIEW OF THE FIRST BOOK!  You can access this by clicking either hyperlink throughout this review displaying the series name.

Make this week adventurous,

Ta’Neisha K.



Published by Ta'Neisha K.

Wife to a great husband. Mother to great children. My family is my ministry.

4 thoughts on “Bear’s Book Review: Worthy Kids/Ideals

  1. Reblogged this on Rollinson Family and commented:
    I recently read a review about a Christian children’s book series called “The Secret of The Hidden Scrolls.” It seemed really interesting so I just had to check it out. I think it might be the perfect addition to our family’s read-aloud list. We recently took on a challenge to read 100 books by the end of the year, and we have jumped in full force.

    Oh, by the way, this review is not sponsored. I wanted to share about this book series because they are really fun for the whole family. All of my children love these books, from the 4 year old all the way to my 12 year old. I have to admit that my husband and I love them too. They are so much fun that we end up reading several chapters in one sitting.

    Here is a link to the original review that grabbed my attention. This book was a win for us. Not only does it teach Biblical stories and truths, it is really fun and entertaining.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: